prairiehouseThe Prairie School of Architecture, as it is formally known, was created by Frank Lloyd Wright. The Prairie style is marked by long, broad horizontal lines. Rows of windows grouped together are also a hallmark. The roof is usually very low with large overhanging eaves.
There are several architects that are associated with the Prairie School. Among the more well known are Frank Lloyd Wright, William Gray Purcell, George Grant Elmslie, William LaBarthe Steele, and more. The Prairie School originated in Chicago, but as students spread, so did the style.
prairiehouseA sub-type of this style is the American Four-Square or Prairie Square or Prairie Box. We have plenty of the Four Square examples in our region.